Loading...

Home pages - full list (A-Z)

OFX Money Transfers – BER Review

OFX International Money Transfers

  • Low cost and transparent fees
  • Excellent customer service and advice
  • Support is available 24/7 online or by phone
  • Rapid funds transfer with large network of banking partners

BER reviews OFX - their exchange rates, service and ease of use and user reviews.

#Reviews #FinTech #Global #OFX #Popular
Email share     Facebook     LinkedIn    Twitter
 

OFX in a nutshell:

  • OFX is the new unified brand name for OzForex, USForex, UKForex, NZForex, and CanadianForex
  • It is one of the largest and most transparent FX providers
  • It offers excellent customer service and advice
  • System support is available 24/7 online or by phone with teams working across major time zones
  • Rapid funds transfer through OFX as it has a large network of banking partners.

OFX exchange rates are highly competitive for global money transfers – either the best or very close to the best exchange rates prevailing in the market. Their transactions are transparent, unlike other brokers. Also, as the rates are displayed on the site, customers can see what rates they can expect.

Exchange Rates 4.6
Customer Service 4.1
Ease of Use 4.1

Founded in Sydney in 1998, OFX has since grown to become one of the world’s leading international specialists in foreign exchange transactions and payments. OFX exchange rates are very good, they provide a comprehensive online FX solutions and have great customer support.

OFX Foreign Transfer Rates & Fees - Compared

Foreign Transfer ProvidersReceive USD($)Exchange RateFee AUDTotal CostDeal Links
OFX (OzForex) logo
6,802 USD
Compare
0.68020^0.72%
Westpac logo
6,722.53 USD
79 USD
0.6736201.88%
ANZ Bank logo
6,619.06 USD
183 USD
0.6631183.39%
BankSA International Money Transfers
BankSA logo
6,597.77 USD
204 USD
0.661120.013.7%
Bank of Melbourne International Money Transfers
Bank of Melbourne logo
6,597.12 USD
205 USD
0.6611213.71%
Bank of Queensland logo
6,591.17 USD
211 USD
0.6611303.79%
Banks - Average Rate
National Australia Bank (nab) logo Westpac logo ANZ Bank logo Commonwealth Bank (CBA) logo St George Bank logo Bank of Queensland logo Bank of Melbourne logo BankSA logo
6,583 USD
219 USD
0.6596153.91%
National Australia Bank (nab) logo
6,556.54 USD
245 USD
0.6571224.3%
Commonwealth Bank (CBA) logo
6,498.1 USD
304 USD
0.65026 5.15%
St George Bank logo
6,482.01 USD
320 USD
0.6495205.39%
OFX (OzForex): Foreign Transfer AUD→USD
AUD amount:$10,000 AUD
Fee:0^ - No fees for BestExchangeRates users (normally $15 for transfers over $10K)
Exchange Rate:0.6802 (0.72% from mid-rate)
USD amount:6,802 USD
Total Cost:0.72%
Time:
Rate Fetched: Mon Jun 17 2019 16:00:05 GMT+0000 (UTC)
Transfer Speed:1-2 days
Services:Bank Transfers - Online & Phone, Foreign Currency Accounts
Rating:
 
: 4.8/5.0
Reviews:
Westpac: Foreign Transfer AUD→USD
AUD amount:$10,000 AUD
Fee:20
Exchange Rate:0.6736 (1.68% from mid-rate)
USD amount:6,722.53 USD
Total Cost:1.88%
Difference:
79 USD less than using OFX (OzForex)
Time:
Rate Fetched: website - Mon Apr 15 2019 01:04:04 GMT+0000 (UTC)
Transfer Speed:2-3 days
Services:Online, Branch, Bank Transfers
Rating:
 
: 2/5.0
Reviews:
ANZ Bank: Foreign Transfer AUD→USD
AUD amount:$10,000 AUD
Fee:18
Exchange Rate:0.6631 (3.21% from mid-rate)
USD amount:6,619.06 USD
Total Cost:3.39%
Difference:
183 USD less than using OFX (OzForex)
Time:
Rate Fetched: website - Mon Jun 17 2019 16:03:05 GMT+0000 (UTC)
Transfer Speed:2-3 days
Services:Online, Branch, Bank Transfers
Rating:
 
: 3/5.0
Reviews:
BankSA: Foreign Transfer AUD→USD
AUD amount:$10,000 AUD
Fee:20.01
Exchange Rate:0.6611 (3.5% from mid-rate)
USD amount:6,597.77 USD
Total Cost:3.7%
Difference:
204 USD less than using OFX (OzForex)
Time:
Rate Fetched: website - 17:53 Local
Transfer Speed:2-3 days
Services:Online, Branch, Bank Transfers
Rating:
: /5.0
Reviews:
Bank of Melbourne: Foreign Transfer AUD→USD
AUD amount:$10,000 AUD
Fee:21
Exchange Rate:0.6611 (3.5% from mid-rate)
USD amount:6,597.12 USD
Total Cost:3.71%
Difference:
205 USD less than using OFX (OzForex)
Time:
Rate Fetched: website - 17:53 Local
Transfer Speed:2-3 days
Services:Online, Branch, Bank Transfers
Rating:
: /5.0
Reviews:
Bank of Queensland: Foreign Transfer AUD→USD
AUD amount:$10,000 AUD
Fee:30
Exchange Rate:0.6611 (3.5% from mid-rate)
USD amount:6,591.17 USD
Total Cost:3.79%
Difference:
211 USD less than using OFX (OzForex)
Time:
Transfer Speed:2-3 days
Services:Online, Branch, Bank Transfers
Rating:
 
: 3/5.0
Reviews:
 

Banks - Average Rate

Foreign Transfer AUD→USD
AUD amount:$10,000 AUD
Fee:15
Exchange Rate:0.6744 (1.56% from mid-rate)
USD amount:6,583 USD
Total Cost:3.91%
Difference:
219 USD less than using OFX (OzForex)
Transfer Speed:2-3 days
Services:Online, Branch, Bank Transfers
National Australia Bank (nab): Foreign Transfer AUD→USD
AUD amount:$10,000 AUD
Fee:22
Exchange Rate:0.6571 (4.09% from mid-rate)
USD amount:6,556.54 USD
Total Cost:4.3%
Difference:
245 USD less than using OFX (OzForex)
Time:
Rate Fetched: website - Mon Jun 17 2019 16:05:02 GMT+0000 (UTC)
Transfer Speed:2-3 days
Services:Online, Branch, Bank Transfers
Rating:
 
: 2.1/5.0
Reviews:
Commonwealth Bank (CBA): Foreign Transfer AUD→USD
AUD amount:$10,000 AUD
Fee:6
Exchange Rate:0.6502 (5.09% from mid-rate)
USD amount:6,498.1 USD
Total Cost:5.15%
Difference:
304 USD less than using OFX (OzForex)
Time:
Rate Fetched: website - Mon Jun 17 2019 16:02:02 GMT+0000 (UTC)
Transfer Speed:2-3 days
Services:Online, Branch, Bank Transfers
Rating:
 
: 1.2/5.0
Reviews:
St George Bank: Foreign Transfer AUD→USD
AUD amount:$10,000 AUD
Fee:20
Exchange Rate:0.6495 (5.2% from mid-rate)
USD amount:6,482.01 USD
Total Cost:5.39%
Difference:
320 USD less than using OFX (OzForex)
Time:
Rate Fetched: website - 17:53 Local
Transfer Speed:2-3 days
Services:Online, Branch, Bank Transfers
Rating:
 
: 1/5.0
Reviews:
 
Snapshot 06/17/2019 - See full table
 

A leading Provider of International Payment Services

As a Foreign Exchange service provider, OFX specialises in international payments. It has a strong presence in Australia, United Kingdom, Canada, United States and various countries in Europe and the Asia Pacific.

OFX employs over 350 people at various levels across its offices in Sydney, London, Toronto, San Francisco, Hong Kong, Singapore and Auckland. It means a dealer is always available over the phone (24/7) to help the clients.

OFX Exchange rates

BestExchangeRates customers get OFX margins for major currency pairs of just 0.4% compared to 4% or 5% with your bank. An additional bonus is that you will also not pay any fixed fees.

If you opt for Spot Rates, you can lock an exchange rate with OFX so that it remains unchanged even before OFX receive your deposit, regardless of the exchange rate changes.

OFX Smart Global Transfers

Visit OFX – zero fee offer

OFX – How it Works

It is very easy to start your association with OFX. Once you register (best exchange rate customers can make use of the special promo offer to get all transfers free of cost), the process will be as follows:

  1. OFX will call you to verify your identity and to finish setting up your online account. Once the account is set up you can monitor the rates in real-time.
  2. When you wish to do a transaction, all you have to do is log in to the OFX exchange rates website and enter the details (Currency, Amount & Beneficiary Account). Then you can easily transfer the amount from your account to the OFX bank account.
  3. Once the money is transferred to the OFX account, OFX will then send the money to the beneficiary account at much better rates than those offered by your own bank.
  4. OFX will notify you when the funds are credited to the beneficiary account.

Other notable features:

No Cash or Cheques Accepted

OFX does not send or accept payments in cash. If you use cash for a transaction OFX will hold on to the cash. The funds would be returned only after a lengthy process, including a formal identification.

Furthermore, OFX does not accept cheques for any currency under any circumstances.

Support to Online Sellers and retailers

OFX has recently focussed on supporting online retailers in the e-commerce sector. With the OFX Global Currency Account, you get access to local currency accounts across currencies such as USD, GBP, HKD, EUR, CAD or AUD for your marketplace or payment gateway to pay into. It allows you to bring funds home or pay the suppliers at the best possible rates. Visit OFX for Online Sellers.

OFX Transfer Fees

OFX charges a one time standard fee of $15 for transfers under $10,000 (note this is waived for life for customers who register via BestExchangeRates.com).

For amounts over $10,000 there is always no fee. Sometimes, third-party banks deduct a fee from the transfer amount before crediting the payment to the beneficiary. This fee is solely at the discretion of the third party bank, it may vary from bank to bank and OFX receives no share of the same.

Timelines

In general, the time it takes for OFX to receive funds from you is between 1 to 2 days for most currencies.

Likewise, most funds will reach your recipient’s account in a day or two (maximum). Fund transfers in certain currencies like THB can take up to four days to be credited to the beneficiary.

Spot Deals

OFX is a unique online currency payment vendor as it provides Online Spot Deals (for selected customers). This feature allows you to lock in the currency rate at the time you entered the deal and not at the time your money is credited to the OFX bank account. This is a very useful feature in a fast moving market when you want to lock in a good rate.

OFX benefits exclusively for Best Exchange Rates users

  • Extremely competitive exchange rate margins (0.4% from market mid-rate for major currencies) and transparent pricing for both individuals and businesses
  • No fees at all when sending over USD10,000 or equivalent (when you use our promo code)
  • Spot deals that let you lock in the current rate even before you have transferred any money
  • Fast, efficient money transfers that can be arranged from anywhere to anywhere in the world
  • Expert dealers who can be contacted 24 hours a day, 7 days a week
  • Access to a feature-rich pricing portal with currency tools and charts
  • Secure and regulated transactions
  • Specialised currency market research and commentary

Customers registering through BER will have all their fees waived.
 

 

More OFX Articles

Best Multi-Currency Accounts 2019: WorldFirst vs. TransferWise vs. OFX

We compare the features, exchange rates and security of the three best multi-currency accounts available today — the WorldFirst World Account, the TransferWise Borderless Account and the OFX Global Currency Account.

Last update: 12 Jun, 2019

OFX Global Currency Account – BER Review

OFX Global Currency Account – Independent BER Review OFX Global Currency Account: A Summary OFX has a 30-year history and is one of the largest foreign exchange specialists in the world. It offers a “Global Currency Account” that allows online sellers to hold, send and receive funds in GBP, EUR, USD, AUD, CAD and HKD. […]

Last update: 26 May, 2019

OFX & BestExchangeRates – Zero fee offer

OFX has partnered with BestExchangeRates to offer you fee free money transfers. If you register with OFX using the below BestExchangeRates FX partner deal promo code link you won’t pay the usual fees* for transfers. OFX – zero fee offer OFX is the new unified brand name for OzForex, USForex, UKForex, NZForex, and CanadianForex It […]

Last update: 3 May, 2019

 

Posted to: Reviews

 

21 Reviews for “OFX Money Transfers – BER Review”

  1. Avatar jeffers43 says:

    Hi am looking to set up a drop-shipping business, do you recommend OFX for handling the currency exchange?

  2. Avatar Wilson says:

    Consistently great rates and service. Make sure you write “Referred by BER” when you register to get the $0 fee transfers.

    4.3
  3. Avatar jillj says:

    Great rates, sure beats using the banks…plus you know what you will receive without having to subtract any ‘mysterious’ and unknown bank fees

    4.5
  4. Avatar Carlos Canada says:

    No Taxes on Bank Transfers Online Between Countries!! Platform Regulated by Canadian Authorities!!! It’s the PayPal of Australia, only Cheaper!!!

    4.5
  5. Avatar mark says:

    Probably, like many other people, I was a little apprehensive about using a third party to take care of my regular overseas transfers. However this week I took the plunge with OFX (prev UKForex), and have been so happy with the service. Michael Sutherland, guided me through the procedure, and was on hand to answer any further questions, which has enabled me to set things up and start making the transfers. We all know that the High Street Banks charge the earth for transfers, but I,like many, was nervous about using a different method. However this has proved to be very simple, thanks to UKForex, and the money I am saving is unbelievable. Thanks again OFX

    4
  6. Avatar Stephen Frost says:

    Needed to transfer a large amount from Australia to the UK to buy a property. Bank rates just weren’t competitive. A friend suggested OzForex and I am happy with how it worked out. I got a rate that was much, much better than the bank. OzForex were very helpful and responsive to my questions. The transaction was completed quickly and efficiently, with excellent communication along the way.

    5
  7. Avatar kan65 says:

    suspected RBC were not giving me the best rate for my regular transfer to USD but 6.5% for CAD/USD thats way too much…I mean its only just over the border! Switched to CanadianForex much cheaper thx

    4
  8. Avatar Peter says:

    Great rates, great service and easy transactions.What more could you want? Will definitely use again.

    4.3
    1. BER Team BER Team says:

      Hi Peter, good to hear you’re happy with the OFX service and that you found them via Best Exchange Rates plus took the time to share your positive experiences
      The BER Team

  9. Avatar rob56 says:

    Definitely positive feedback. It is a pleasure to deal with such a friendly and professional company. Setting up the account was very simple. The customer service has been amazing and done a wonderful job. The money did get through on time and without problems.

    4.7
  10. Avatar expat bob says:

    Definitely recommend these guys, have saved heaps over the last year

    4.3
  11. Avatar Suzette says:

    Just did my first test transfer: very easy process and great comparison rates. Took 2 & a half days from pushing the button to money in an Italian account. Will be using OFX again and have already recommended it to a friend who is about to do business in europe.

    4.5
  12. Avatar Bronwyn says:

    Thanks for a great rate and easy transaction!

    3.8
  13. Avatar rene fr says:

    great works well and good rates & service, I use to send money home to france

    4.2
  14. Avatar davo says:

    I worked for a few years in London and was sending home pounds to Australia on a regular basis, (at around 2.4 to the AUD…those were the days!).
    Initially I was lazy and was just using the international remittance facility of my UK bank until I discovered OZForex, my bank was charging around 3% margin and OZforex only around 1%.
    So OZForex saved me thousands of dollars over the years. Thank you very much!

    4.2
  15. Avatar Carlo says:

    Just completed my sixth currencey purchase with Ozforex, and I am blown away each time by the deals I receive and the ease of the transaction. I can’t get enough of you guys. Just posted a review on Product Review – you guys rock!

    4.2
  16. Avatar peo says:

    Consistently have amongst the best rates and great service, I use them to send money home to Oz. Recommended

    4.2
  17. Avatar gerry says:

    Still a little apprehensive about using a third party to take care of my regular overseas transfers, need some more reassurance firstly, before I would use them…what if they go bell up, just as you send them your money…????

    4.3
    1. Avatar dyla44 says:

      Hi Gerry, OzForex is a strategic investment of Macquarie Bank and since its launch in 1998, the Group has grown to be one of the world’s largest foreign exchange companies. The OzForex Group completes over 300,000 funds transfers per year on behalf of 100,000 dealing customers, and has an annual turnover of US$7 billion.
      OzForex holds client funds in accounts with highly rated financial institutions. In addition, OzForex operates an extremely low risk business model whereby OzForex never pays out client funds prior to receipt of the currency the client has sold to them. This ensures OzForex has zero default risk from client dealings.

  18. Avatar nigel says:

    Worked out great. Ran smoothly, no problems.

    4
  19. Avatar pam72 says:

    I will start by saying that I am glad I decided to use ClearFx (edit: now OFX) rather than make a transfer through my bank. The exchange rate was much higher and we avoided all of the fees associated with international transfers. I must admit I was very hesitant at first. There aren’t very many reviews about the clear fx online, so I was a little scared that I was going to send my money away and never see it again. Fortunately it did turn up in my bank account! We spoke to people on the phone numerous times and every person we did speak with was polite and helpful. It took a bit of time to get the identification requirements in order (you have to send certified copies of identification and proof of your bank account via cheque or other means). Once everything was in order it went smoothly from there. They even accomodated our request to change the amount we wanted to send. Overall, good company, good prices, will use again.

Leave your own Review & Ratings:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

   

Get a Better FX Deal when you Send and Spend Abroad.

 

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!